Intro Another GSOC Introduction :)

Dear All,

My name is Muhammad Omer Saeed and I am a masters student at the University of Bonn in Germany, specializing in computer graphics and computer vision. I am quite interested in the topic on 'rendering approaches for very far distances' that I found on the ideas page, since it is closely related to my field. I have taken a number of courses at my university in computer graphics and I have a in-depth knowledge of the following topics:
  • Methods for the generation of polygonal meshes (laser scanning, registration and integration of single mesh parts, etc.)
  • Mesh representation: point based representations, efficient mesh data structures
  • Mesh processing: reconstruction techniques, mesh compression, optimization of polygonal meshes (fairing and remeshing), mesh decimation and refinement, hierarchical representations.
  • Parametrization of surfaces, shape segmentation, classification and retrieval
  • Models for the description of optical material properties and light sources
  • Methods and algorithms for the acquisition of optical material properties
  • Algorithms and techniques of image based rendering and digital photography
I wanted to ask what should be my steps for becoming a successful candidate for this project idea in GSOC 16? Are there any bugs that I should try to fix to show my understanding of the technologies used? What should be the content of a successful proposal? Please let me know. Thank you.

P.S. For a detailed overview of my qualifications please visit me on LinkedIn (https://de.linkedin.com/in/musaeed1) and Github (https://github.com/musaeed).

Best Regards

Skaldarnar

Development Lead
Contributor
Art
World
SpecOps
Hi @Muhammad Omer Saeed and welcome :) I quickly moved your introduction to the proper corner of the forums in case you wonder ;)