Intro Hello everyone (GSoC-Behavior Trees)

Omar Verduga

Hi, everyone, some quick details about me
  • Name: Omar Verduga
  • Social: Twitter: @omar13x
  • From: I'm from Mexico , but I'm doing a PhD in London (Cognitive Science, but my backgrounds are in Computer Sciences.)
  • Skills / Tools: Before doing my MSc I had 3-year experience using java for web , standalone but mostly server side projects. (In fact I'm a certified Java Programmer for the old 1.4 version). After that I was involved in videogame industry and interactive arts, using C++ , C# , AS3 and javascript for some projects ( like another 4 years of experience in this kind of projects). At this moment, in my PhD I'm using mostly Python( Deep Learning stuff), so I need to keep my skills to date :).
  • Found via: I found Terasology listed in past GSoC projects. At that time I was unable to apply given some dates with my offer letter, but this time I'm ready.
  • Interests: I'm very interested in the Behavior Tree AI system. I love gameplay and AI most than graphic stuff, for me is in there were the suspension of disbelief resides.
  • Extra: I was also thinking in propose terasology as a test bed for OpenAI environment, and link it some way to use it in the Reinforcement Learning world, but I will wait to know more about OpenAI before compromise myself to something potentially out of the time scope.

Cervator

Org Co-Founder & Project Lead
Contributor
Design
Logistics
SpecOps
Hello fellow Java 1.4 certified programmer! :D

Sounds like you've got some impressive background there! AI is a big field and we could use a lot of help with it. I've read a bit about OpenAI just haven't had the time to dig in much. Would love to see some more ideas on that, although yeah I wouldn't necessarily suggest merging that with the BT item, it seems like reinforcement learning could be a whole other item.