Contributor Howdy!

MottaTheHutt

Contributor
Hello all!
  • Name: Ian "Motta" Maltbey
  • Social: https://github.com/MottaTheHutt, https://gist.github.com/MottaTheHutt
  • Skills / Tools:
    • Java: baby's first programming language. What I learned to code in, though I honestly haven't used it much outside of school.
    • JSON: I've dealt with JSON objects in an internship previously, and noticed Terasology uses JSON for some things.
    • Game development: "Development" may be a strong word here. Most of my personal projects in the past have been Lua scripts that run in NES/SNES emulators. This is popular for tool-assisted speedrun videos, but can also be used for providing additional GUIs, general automation, etc.
    • Customer service/communication: Not sure how much this is needed at this point, but I thought it was worth mentioning. While customer service skills aren't really something I'm naturally good at, it's what I do for a living at the moment, and I have quite a bit of training in that area now.
  • Found via: Stumbled upon Terasology when browsing through various github projects. I was interested in learning more about game design, and this seemed like a great way to do that.
  • Interests: Procedural generation was the main topic that drew me to Terasology, but I'm really looking to learn about game development - and open source development - in general.
At this point I have to admit I've spent more time reading about Terasology than actually playing it, so right now I'm just messing around with different modules and getting familiar with what's already there.

I think that about covers it. Would be happy to answer any questions you may have.

Cervator

Org Co-Founder & Project Lead
Contributor
Design
Logistics
SpecOps
Heya @MottaTheHutt good to see an intro post from you, have met at least a couple times on IRC already I remember :)