Contributor Hello, I'm 4D enthusiast

4D enthusiast

Contributor
  • Name: 4D enthusiast
  • Social: Github: 4Denthusiast, IRC: _4Denthusiast
  • Skills / Tools: Haskell, Java, LWJGL, WebGL, HTML/Javascript, procedural generation, physics simulation
  • Found via: Google Summer of Code
  • Interests: I made various minecraft mods when I was younger, which was why I learnt Java in the first place. I like doing graphics things, because it still amazes me how much GPUs are capable of.
  • Extra: I'm currently studying for a Maths & Computer Science undergraduate degree. I hope to participate in Summer of Code with Terasology, possibly on #3161 if it seems plausible in the time available upon further inspection, or probably something graphics-related if not.

manu3d

Contributor
Architecture
4D enthusiast, welcome.

I notice you mention LWJGL and WebGL.

Terasology is LWJGL (2.92)/OpenGL (2.1) -based and there are currently two people working on rendering-related code: myself and @vampcat. We are about 2/3rds of the way of a large refactoring effort started about three years ago. We could certainly use some help, especially in what we call Shaderland, which is still a bit of a mess and is somewhat insulated from the ongoing refactoring effort - see for example this project idea.

I see your interest in #3161 however. That gets closer to the realms in which @Florian, @oniatus and @msteiger roam through (terrain generation). I'd get involved only if it impacts the renderer somehow.

Let us know if you have any questions. And again, welcome.

Kind regards,

Manu

4D enthusiast

Contributor
As GSOC permits submitting multiple applications, I may do one each for tidying up the graphics and #3161 to hedge my bets a bit. I've never used such old OpenGL versions before. I'm still in the process of familiarising myself with the existing code though, so I'll just see how I go.

4D enthusiast

Contributor