Contributor Hi! I'm Manas.

manas96

Contributor
Hi. I'm a Computer Science undergrad and I'm interested in contributing to Terasology this summer.

Besides a few games in Unreal Engine 4 and Java(2D), I've tried making a game engine in Java from scratch (read: OpenGL) using LWJGL. I did follow various tutorials and I certainly won't claim that I can make another without help, but that project is helping me greatly in understating Terasology's codebase.
Here's a link to the engine if you're interested.

I'm interested in expanding the Light&Shadow module. Besides the already suggested features, I have another idea which I'd like to run by you all:

New gameplay feature: A Chemistry Engine! My inspiration for this idea was this GDC talk by The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild's developers.
Basically, all the elements in the game (earth, fire, air, water etc.) have specific interactions with each other and perform specific actions according to a set of predefined rules.
I'd like to implement a modular system wherein any element along with its interactions with other elements can be defined.
So for example you could create a fire, water and electricity element. A fire<->water interaction will result in the water nullifying the fire and an electricity<->water interaction will make the electricity element more powerful.
See this video by Mark Brown for a concise explanation.

I also would like to work on the Shaderland refactoring issue. I have a basic understanding of the OpenGL shader pipeline, GLSL and how shaders are abstracted in a game engine. Is there a beginner issue that I could solve to get familiar with the refactoring?

TL;DR:
  • Name:Manas Kale
  • Social: https://github.com/manas96
  • Skills / Tools: Intermediate Java, C++, Unreal Engine4, 2D/3D Game Development, 3D Game Engine dev.
  • Found via: Google Summer of Code.