Intro Hi there, I'm David

dave2s

Contributor
  • Name: Dave2S
  • Social: Git & Discord: dave2s
  • From: Czech Republic. Currently I am a student of Computer Graphics and Multimedia masters program at the Faculty of Information Technology, Brno University of Technology.
  • Skills / Tools: Recently Active: C, Java, Python, Shell; -- New to/Passive: OpenGL/SDL/C++,C#, OpenCV, Jenkins, SQL, JDBC, X11 etc.
  • Found via: GSoC 2018 (I'm not applying)
  • Interests: MovingBlocks caught my interest for three main reasons. First of all, the skills/technologies required matched my interest, field of study and experience. Second of all, the proposed issues seem more interesting to me than other projects'. Lastly, I spent quite some time playing both similar (MC's FeedTheBeast mods, FasterThanLight, Galaxy on Fire mobile series, etc. ) and other games (all kind) and I've always been interested to dig into game engine internals but I never found a good oportunity to start at this level. I have not yet contributed to any open source project either. My only game dev experience would be a little java project implementing the Othello desk game at Uni.
    I'm not running for GSoC 2018 since I simply don't have enough free time. I would still like to become a contributor, however.
  • Extra: I've work experience as a Java SW Automation Tester ( 15 months, so Java and Git on a bigger scale don't scare me so much now :)). I did a research on Video Image restoration using Convolutional Neural Networks as my thesis, which is kind of a offtopic, but explains some of my skills' items and is a good experience on implementing stuff based on scientific papers. I love the fact that actual research is much more accessible today and there is so much to read about and do on your own!