Using the Terasology design as a core-framework?

kaychamo

Hello,

I try to express my creativity by developping my own game which will be a long-term projet.
I'm really interested in the design pattern used in terasology (entity component system)

I couldn't find a way to recover the initial framework used in your project as it is explained there : https://github.com/MovingBlocks/Terasology/wiki/Entity-System-Architecture
I really like this wiki! thanks!

As I'm a starter in dev (working daily on the ops-side as system engineer), I'm a little afraid to start from the source-code of your project as today.
So my question is do you offer any core-framework to share with game developpers who want to start from scratch?

Thanks in advance,
kaychamo

Cervator

Org Co-Founder & Project Lead
Contributor
Design
Logistics
SpecOps
Hi @kaychamo :)

It is actually on our list to extract out the entity system into a standalone framework, just like has been done for our asset and module system. But exactly when is still uncertain.

What do you have in mind for your game? You may actually consider starting inside Terasology first (you could make your own gameplay template to design as you see fit), to learn the architecture of the entity system. By the time you're really good at it maybe it'll be extracted out and ready for standalone usage :)

There are other entity systems like Artemis that are already available independently too.

IMHO starting from scratch is scarier, or even with base frameworks like an entity system. One alternative is going with something full engine-level like LibGDX or jMonkeyEngine. Or even Unity or others like it.

kaychamo

Hi @Cervator :)

Thanks for your answer, it's sweet for me to see that you like to welcome newcomers

My game would be a long term project where I will put my free time to express my creavity