Source Hey there!

AtharvaKhare

Hello!
I am a Computer Engineering undergad in India. The idea "Port advanced organic growth simulator from Python" caught my eye and I have been trying to understand the codebase since. I have finished Asset system tutorial and have started the World Generation one. The TerasologyTrees, and GrowingFlora , PlantPack modules are fantastic, and I would start playing with them as soon as I finish tutorials.
Another idea I liked is "Genome Integrations", although I haven't had time to see this in detail.
  • Name: Atharva Khare
  • Social: https://github.com/AtharvaKhare
  • Skills / Tools: Advanced Python, Intermediate Java, "Hobby" game dev done in Unity(C#)
  • Found via: Google Summer of Code
  • Interests: I started learning programming by game dev (first due to GameMaker, then Unity). I try to code new algorithms in Unity, because it makes learning much more fun! I think the modularity of Terasology is a great concept, and would be easier to play around in here than Unity.
  • Questions:
    1. As mentors, what prerequisites are you expecting from students with decent proposal?
    2. What modules should I look into for "Port advanced organic growth simulator from Python" and "Genome Integrations"?
    3. I am thinking of implementing a module to get used to the codebase. Any suggestions?

Last edited:

Cervator

Org Co-Founder & Project Lead
Contributor
Design
Logistics
SpecOps
Hi there and welcome!

The Python growth simulator on its own is a pretty old concept at this point and was used partly as inspiration for GrowingFlora. You don't necessarily need to do a straight port of the original code, more use it further for inspiration.