unified graphic style

glasz

Contributor
Art
It's probably time we start a discussion on how to set standards for the graphic style of our creatures.

In terms of modeling, the first thing to consider is the polycount. As allways i suppose the budget is "as low as possible", but how low exactly? Minecraft polys are extremely low poly, lower that quake 1 models, wich i think were around 500 tris. With the dwarf model i tried to make something close to the minecraft spirit. I also made this one :

as something closer to the quake 1 approach, its 300 tris.

Agreed most quake 1 models look ugly by today standards, but i think its possible to make something cool with a more stylised/unrealistic approach, and more flat/mangaish texturing.

I prefer that option personnaly, the other seems too limiting in terms of the modeling, and too relying on texturing (wich i'm not good at) for me.

And of course, we can even go for higher polycount depending of what the coders say :)

As for texturing, i have no specific ideas to share.

overdhose

Contributor
Design
World
GUI
I like the idea of flat / mangaish texturing a lot. Would like to see what your model looks like with textures honestly

Cervator

Org Co-Founder & Project Lead
Contributor
Design
Logistics
SpecOps
Can't see that from work (anything attached to posts work tho), but yes, we need to sort this out :)

My understanding from past discussions is that a few hundred polys is perfectly fine, even in high numbers

One specific consideration is if we want to add the facial cues bit, or other cues beyond the base texture of a block creature. There was some discussion on that - basically keep the overall block approach, but use a small swappable face texture to be able to give more detail there, enough to let the player get an impression of what mood the creature might be in